Self-Concept

  1. What social groups do you belong to? What are the norms of behaviour that the group demonstrates?

The social groups that I associate myself with would be the track team, my hockey team, my peers and classmates, as well as a few other people from school (a few grade 10s and 12s), the community of Vibank, and my family. For track, I think the normal behavior demonstrated is to try your best, to push yourself further and to always be your best self. For being your best self, this is from physical abilities to being supportive and having a good sportsmanship. Each of these norms are also demonstrated on the hockey team I play for. IMG_1218On my hockey team another norm is to always have fun and support one another. It’s all about being a team and helping each other out. Some social norms that me and my friends have is to support one another, have fun, trust each other, be accepting, be honest and don’t lie about stuff and to push each other to be the best you can be (whether this is physically, mentally, emotionally or spiritually). For Vibank, norms that are commonly demonstrated are helping out the community, offering support to one another, and taking part in community projects and initiatives. Lastly, the social norms in my family are to respect one another, be honest, help each other out, and always try to be the best you can be.

 

  1. How would you describe the qualities of your gender, in other words, what qualities of “maleness” or “femaleness” do you demonstrate?

Commonly (and kind of stereotypically) women are said to be emotional, dependant, sensitive, nurturing, accepting, graceful, and flirtatious. I think that to a degree, these are right, but these are also very flexible. No two people are exactly the same and have the same qualities or characteristics as one another. For me, I think that I hold both female and male characteristics. I’ve always been kind of a “tomboy”, I probably inherited this because of hanging out with my brothers. Anyways, I think the qualities that I demonstrate are emotional, competitive, active, accepting, sensitive, stubborn, empowering, and nurturing. male-and-female-relationship-signI also think that I hold other qualities, but these can change due to the situation I am put in. For example, if I’m playing a serious game of hockey, I’m not going to be quiet and gentle. Instead, I will probably be loud, competitive and aggressive. Overall, I think the qualities that I demonstrate really depend on what kind of situation I find myself in.

 

  1. What have you discovered from your own behavior?

This past year has hands down been the most difficult year I’ve ever experienced. I have dealt with many situations, some more serious and difficult then others. With having a difficult year, I have learnt a lot and had to be a lot more mature. From my own behavior in the past year and years before this year I have discovered many things. Mainly, I have
IMG_0979.jpglearned to take everyday as it comes because at any moment anything can be taken away from you, relationships are more important than money, be grateful for the things you have and have earned, and make sure your priorities are always in the right order.
More specifically, I have discovered that I don’t like to show my emotions, I am very particular with who I converse with and what I tell them, I can be very stubborn, I work best on my own although I enjoy the presence of others, I depend on others for support and advice (again, I am very conscious to who I discuss that kind of stuff with though), I am very self driven and I always try to keep balance in my life, and I make sure I take good care of myself and the people around me.

 

  1. Who do you compare yourself to? Is your comparison based on self-assessment, self-improvement or self-enhancement?

I believe that I usually compare myself to my peers, the people I am close with, my family, people on my hockey team and people that I look up to. IMG_0997I think that my comparison is most commonly based on self-assessment and improvement. I like to know who I am as a person, and how I can improve or change that for the better. For example, I like to compare myself to my goalie partner, Brooklyn Lund IMG_1213and to my favorite NHL goalie, Carey Price. When I do this, I take a look at who I am as a goalie and how I am performing. And then by comparing myself to Brooklyn and Carey, I try to see where I can get better and have a better performance on and off the ice. Furthermore, on self-assessment, I compare myself to family. This helps me analyze who I am as a person. I also do this because I FullSizeRenderenjoy seeing how much alike and different I am compared to my parents and siblings.

 

 

 

  1. Bob Segar – Feel Like a Number

De-personalizing someone is to deprive someone of feeling of an individual personality. I think that everyone experiences this feeling at one point or another in their life. Personally, I feel de-personalized mostly when I work at the Grotto. I find this especially relevant when costumers are rude and don’t acknowledge you. I find it really frustrating, because I make sure I do good at my job, and when that isn’t recognized it’s annoying. I know I also feel de-personalized when we are discussing female and male stereotypes. And common characteristics of being a woman or man. I think this is because each of those things are just a generalisation, and being ‘general’ takes away that feeling of being individualistic. I would imagine that this makes other people feel de-personalized as well.

Leave a Reply

